European Society of Toxicologic Pathology (ESTP)
    European Society of Toxicologic Pathology
Professor Dr. med. Dr. h.c. mult. Ulrich Mohr
Honorary Member of the Gesellschaft für Toxikologische Pathologie (GTP)

Professor Ulrich Mohr has actively supported our society, the GTP, for many years. He helped to set high international standards by initiating and organising the annual ILSI Histopathology Seminars, a "flying university" which for many years provided training in laboratory animal pathology on three continents. He also edited and co-edited a number of books essential in this field, such as the extensive series "Monographs on Pathology of Laboratory Animals", in addition to ten volumes of the "International Classification of Rodent Tumours, Part I - the Rat", as well as "Pathobiology of the Ageing Rat", "Pathobiology of the Ageing Mouse" and "Pathology of Tumours in Laboratory Animals, Volume I Tumours of the Rat, Volume II - Tumours of the Mouse". His work thus contributed greatly to the training and continuing professional education of our membership.

While executing his duties as Director of the Institute of Experimental Pathology at the Hannover Medical School and at the Fraunhofer Institute for Toxicology and Aerosol Research, Professor Mohr created, jointly with representatives of chemical and pharmaceutical industry, the RITA project, a common database of spontaneous tumours occurring in laboratory animals, which established internationally valid diagnostic criteria for neoplasms in rodents, and which has been used intensely to the benefit of our membership.

Our Society is grateful to Professor Mohr for his activity as co-editor of "Experimental and Toxicologic Pathology", our official journal, which he placed at our disposal and renamed to suit its broadened purpose.

We honour Professor Mohr especially for his contribution to pathology of laboratory animals, immensely valuable to us, which achieved world-wide respect and distinguished him among our membership.

Amsterdam, September 2000
Georg J. Krinke
GTP Chairman

Dr. Deschl, Dr. Krinke and Professor Mohr
Dr. Deschl, Dr. Krinke and Professor Mohr