European Society of Toxicologic Pathology (ESTP)
    European Society of Toxicologic Pathology
Professor Dr. med. vet. Franz Hartig
Honorary Member of the Gesellschaft für Toxikologische Pathologie (GTP)

Professor Hartig contributed invaluably to the foundation of our society in 1986. His high professional and personal standing among European veterinary pathologists, as well as pathologists working in industry, helped to accomplish this difficult endeavour. His years as Head of Pathology at Boehringer Mannheim provided him with a wealth of experience, especially in his favourite field of evaluating long-term studies. He set exemplary professional standards by using his interpretation of toxicologic findings as a tool to support risk assessment and registration. Professor Hartig was one of the first members of our society to become active as university lecturer. As visiting professor (Honorarprofessor) at the University of Giessen he applied his experience from industrial research in the education of graduate students, including their supervision when working for a doctorate. He was actively involved in the RITA project (Registry of Industrial Toxicology Animal-data) from its beginning, and for many years participated regularly at the panel meetings, contributing constructively and playing an important role in the development of international diagnostic criteria, especially those concerning rat liver pathology. Professor Hartig missed none of the annual GTP meetings, at which his presentations as speaker, discussion participant or session chairman were much appreciated. He was, furthermore, among the first lecturers at the annual seminar "Classic Examples of Toxicologic Pathology", held at the School of Veterinary Medicine in Hannover.

Our society bestows honorary membership to Professor Franz Hartig for his exemplary and lasting contributions since its foundation. His successful career in industrial research and high professional and personal standards are an example for us all.

Giessen, September 1999
Georg J. Krinke
GTP Chairman