European Society of Toxicologic Pathology (ESTP)
    European Society of Toxicologic Pathology
ESTP Thesis Award 2021 in Toxicological Pathology
Dr. Lykke Boysen

The Thesis of Lykke Boysen "Formation and vascular deposition of immune complexes in mice administered with species-foreign proteins" is the recipient of this year's ESTP Publication Award. The Thesis was unanimously selected by the committee. It resulted in four publications, one of which was published in Toxicologic Pathology.
It was selected from 13 submitted publications. The PhD thesis was submitted and published in 2019 at the University of Copenhagen. The work was conducted at Novo Nordisk A/S.

In her Thesis, Lykke developed a mouse model of drug induced immune complex mediated vascular disease. She also examined the role of complement bound in circulating immune complexes and developed a method for their detection. She examined the potential role of these complexes as a biomarker of disease with induced by different antigens (anti. TNF alpha, humanized anti-trinitrophenol or Bovine Serum Albumin).

Award Committee:  Anna-Lena Frisk
Hans Harleman (chair)
Heike Marxfeld
Lars Mecklenburg
Matthias Rinke
Regis Masson
Thomas Nolte